hnalogo.jpg (103481 bytes)


Hugo Neighborhood Association & Historical Society

Briggs, George E.
Browning, Edmond
Croxton, Thomas
Ganiard, Oscar
Harkness, Samuel
Hendershott, James
Hogue, Ebenezer
Hogue, Samuel
Holton, Daniel S.
Howell, Jefferson
Mason, Joseph
Nagle, William
Newman, William
Sexton, David
Smith, John S W
Tolin, Edward N
Tuffs, James P.
Twogood, James H.
Walker, Wesley R. and Augustus L.



He was the first sheriff of Josephine County in 1856 and his log home in Waldo was used as the first courthouse that same year.  Waldo, in the Illinois Valley, was the first county seat.

(source - 110 Years with Josephine by Jack Sutton, pages 198 & 200)

See Background of These Times







Back to Top

2012 Hugo Neighborhood Association & Historical Society